A dream becomes reality

 

 

To found a music festival away from other large-scale ones was a long-cherished dream of the Berlin-based Scharoun Ensemble They also had a vision: to offer gifted music students from around the world the opportunity to work with members of the Berliner Philharmoniker and learn from them in courses and joint concerts.

 

In Zermatt, these two ideas have become reality. From the very first festival in 2005, everyone involved agreed that the conditions the Scharoun Ensemble, their guests and the young members of the Zermatt Festival Academy found at the foot of the Matterhorn were as unique as they were ideal. And to this day, nothing has changed.

 

Among the many performances of the Scharoun Ensemble – from Rotterdam to Rome and from Korea to the United States – the Zermatt Festival is a highlight of the season every year. That exceptional projects come about is also due to the cordial ties between the musicians who perform here together.

 

 

www.scharounensemble.de

Un rêve devient réalité

 

 

Fonder un festival de musique de haut vol à l’écart des manifestations majeures du circuit? Le Scharoun Ensemble de Berlin en rêvait depuis longtemps déjà, et savait quels contours donner au concept: l’événement devait permettre à des étudiants du monde entier de  cohabiter sur scène et en coulisses avec les membres du Philharmonique de Berlin.

 

Ce rêve est devenu réalité à Zermatt en 2005. L’enthousiasme qu’a suscité la première édition du festival est aujourd’hui encore intact. Le Scharoun Ensemble, ses hôtes ainsi que les jeunes participants de la Zermatt Festival Academy s’accordent à le dire: à l’ombre du Cervin, les conditions sont aussi uniques qu’idéales.

 

Les membres du Scharoun Ensemble ont beau sillonner les continents de Rome à Rotterdam et de Corée aux Etats-Unis. De saison en saison, le Zermatt Festival restera pour eux un rendez-vous à part. Des projets exceptionnels y voient le jour, des liens d’amitié y prennent racine ou se renforcent.

 

www.scharounensemble.de